Skip to main content

Add and remove Astro users

As a Workspace Admin or Organization Owner, you can add new team members to Astro and grant them user roles with permissions for specific actions across your Organization. Workspace Admins can remove users from a Workspace, and Organization Owners can remove users from an Organization.

Prerequisites

  • To add or remove Organization users, you need Organization Owner permissions.
  • To add or remove Workspace users, you need Workspace Admin permissions for that Workspace. The user must also already be a part of the Organization that hosts the Workspace.
  • To remove a user from an Organization, one or more Organization Owners must be assigned to the Organization. If you're the only Organization Owner for your Organization, you'll need to assign another Organization Owner before removing yourself from the Organization.

For more information on user roles, see Manage user permissions on Astro.

Add a user to an Organization

You can invite a user to an Organization only if their email address' domain is in your Organization's allowlist. To add a domain to your Organization's allowlist, contact Astronomer support.

  1. In the Cloud UI's Organization view, open the People tab.

  2. Click Invite member:

    Organization user invite button

  3. Enter the user's email.

  4. Set an Organization role for the user.

  5. Click Add member.

    After you add the user, their information appears in the Access tab as a new entry in the Members table. To access the Organization, the user needs to accept the invitation sent by email and then create an Astro account or log in.

Add a user to a Workspace

  1. In the Cloud UI, select a Workspace.

  2. Click Access in the left menu.

  3. Click Add member.

    Workspace user invite button

  4. Enter the user's email.

  5. Set a Workspace role for the user. For a list of available roles and their permissions, see Workspace roles

  6. Click Add member.

    After you add the user, their information appears in the Access tab as a new entry in the Members table. To access the Workspace, the user needs to accept the invitation sent by email and log in.

Remove users from a Workspace

  1. In the Cloud UI, select a Workspace.

  2. Click Access in the left menu.

    Access tab

  3. Click Edit next to the user you want to remove.

  4. Click Remove member.

  5. Click Yes, Continue to confirm the removal.

Remove users from an Organization

When you remove a user from an Organization, they are automatically removed from all of the Workspaces they had access to within the Organization.

  1. In the Cloud UI, click the People tab.
  2. Click Edit next to the user you want to remove.
  3. Click Remove member.
  4. Click Yes, Continue to confirm the removal.